Grace Ogot

Listen One of the first female Kenyan writers to be published, Grace Ogot was also a politician, nurse, author, journalist and diplomat. Ogot is among the founding members of the Writers Association of Kenya and was its chairperson from 1975 to 1980. She went to Parliament via a by-election in Gem Constituency after the murder […]

Peris Tobiko

Listen Peris Pesi Tobiko made history when she became the first Maasai woman to be elected to a leadership position in 2013. She became the Member of Parliament (MP) for Kajiado East. Tobiko has served as district officer and also as benefits manager at the National Social Security Fund (NSSF), the agency that oversees pensions. […]

Grace Akech Onyango

Listen Grace Akech Onyango is Kenya’s first female mayor and the first female (temporary) deputy speaker of the National Assembly. She beat 10 male opponents in the 1967 elections to serve as the mayor of Kisumu and was later elected Kisumu Town Member of Parliament (MP) on December 6, 1969, in a male dominated Parliament […]

Charity Ngilu – Pioneer female presidential candidate’s political journey

Listen Hailed as the first woman in Kenya to run for president alongside Wangari Maathai, Charity Kaluki Ngilu has had a remarkable presence in the political arena. To date, she remains the female presidential candidate with the most votes following her attempt in 1997. She also served as the Kitui Central Member of Parliament as […]

Sophia Noor

Listen Sophia Abdi Noor defied the odds to become the first elected female Member of Parliament (MP) from north-eastern Kenya. She won the Ijara Constituency seat on a Party of Reforms and Development (PDR) ticket in the 2017 elections. She entered politics in 2008, as an Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) nominated MP in the 10th […]

Chelagat Mutai

Listen Philomena Chelagat Mutai still holds the record as the youngest female Member of Parliament (MP) in Kenya. At just 24 years old, Mutai trounced 11 other aspirants in the 1974 general elections to clinch the Eldoret North seat on a Kenya African National Union (KANU) ticket. This made her the youngest legislator and the […]